top of page

Cubs fans celebrate team's 1st World Series berth since 1945


Chicago Cubs fans have waited 71 years to celebrate a return to the World Series.

Overjoyed fans the broadcast on Wrigley Field on Saturday night after the Cubs beat the Dodgers in Game 6 of the National League Championship Series to earn their first trip to the World Series since 1945. Blackhawks Winter Classic Jersey.

Two people climbed a traffic pole, with a man wiggles all the way to the end. Police said he was arrested later, as a couple of fans lit fireworks.

A majority of the crowd, however, celebrated the victory peacefully. Many took selfies in front of the stage and hugged each other.

Some also broke out in song, while others shook the beer bottles and sprayed the crowd. Police officers, including a dozen mounted police, kept an eye on the crowd. And some officers were seen giving high-fives to fans as they walked by.

Many people have donned blue Cubbie and detainees' 'flags' W.

Cubs fan Brian Dusza, who was at Wrigley for Game 6 of the NLCS in 2003, never thought he would see the team win the pennant of the National League.

"I never thought I'd see, '' Dusza, 49, said after attending Saturday's game." I can not even describe how I feel. ''

Ed Koenig Darien, Illinois, was among the few thousand fans who remained in their seats one hour after the end of the game.

Her eyes filled as he spoke of his father, who died in May.

"He never got to see it, '' Koenig said." I'm not a game this season without him, and when my friend won a lottery for these tickets, I thought "how will I go without my father? '' '

But his friend convinced him to go. "I have his watch, '' Koenig said, pointing to the watch on his wrist." I thought I was going without my father, but I'm with him. ''

Before the game, Steve Zucker said he would go to his father's grave and leave a Cubs hat and T-shirt - if the Cubs won.

"My father died playing cards, listening to the game on a small transistor radio, so I can do that, too, '' Zucker said.

Pitcher Jon Lester said after the game Saturday that Cubs fans were "incredible '' throughout the season.

"[Fans] have nothing but support us from day 1. fact ... Words can not really describe where I am right now, '' Lester said.

Cubs All-Star third baseman Kris Bryant said the chants of "M-V-P '' gave him chills, adding that" you never play for these prizes, but for those singing people, it's amazing. ''

After the game, Cubs pitcher Kyle Hendricks said this victory and trip to the World Series was for the fans.

"I hope they like it. They waited a long time, '' Hendricks said." The best fans in baseball, the most dedicated fans and they deserve a lot more of them. ''

Even the fan who watched the game from the infamous "Steve Bartman seat" - the name of the fan at bay who deflected a foul ball in the NLCS in 2003, prompting a rally Miami Marlins in this series - including the nature historic evening.

"I am very happy. I love the Cubs. I love the city, '' the fan said. "So my wife and I had 8-month-old baby, so it's pretty special, pretty special time for all of us. ''

The Cubs will face the Cleveland Indians in Game 1 on Tuesday with the World Series back to Wrigley Field for Game 3 Friday. Chicago Hot Fans.

bottom of page